• Winner of the 2010 Sunburst Award, YA Category
  • Winner of the Carl Brandon Parallax Award
  • Longlisted for the Dublin IMPAC Literary Award
  • Longlisted for the 2010 British Fantasy Award for Best Novel
  • A 2010 White Pine Award nominee
  • YALSA 2010 Best Fiction for Young Adults nominee

“Half World is a haunting combination of a coming-of-age novel and a spiritual quest, a mad funhouse of horrors and a tale of redemption and love. Wonderfully odd, and quite unforgettable.”       —Neil Gaiman

For fans of Pans Labyrinth and The Spiderwick Chronicles. An epic, genre-bending fantasy from Commonwealth Prize­winning author Hiromi Goto.

In bookstores everywhere January 27, 2009. A Puffin Canada hardcover from Penguin Group (Canada).

“It’s just wonderful. Buy one for yourself, one for a reading friend, and one for a girl, who might not know yet just how much she needs to read this. Then read it. And then you’ll understand exactly how thrilled I was to hear her say that she’s working on a companion novel.” —Buried in Print

“Fresh and intriguing…. The growth of the heroine and the clean narrative arc, which careens from one vivid, surreal scene to the next, should captivate readers.” —The Horn Book

“Goto has created an unusual fantasy horror novel that’s something like a Gaiman tale with a dash of Asian magic. Readers who want a different kind of fantasy and who like a villain who makes the skin crawl should enjoy this quick read.” —School Library Journal

“A fast-moving and provocative journey with cosmically high stakes, and one that should readily appeal to fans of dark, nightmarish fantasy.” —Publishers Weekly

“The richly flavored, often gruesome despair of the worldbuilding is enriched beautifully by Tamaki’s evocative illustrations, in which the contrasts between light and darkness mirror the tale’s thematic concerns. Hopeful and beautifully strange.” —Kirkus Reviews

6 Comments

  1. […] Half World, by Hiromi Goto. I haven’t read anything of Goto’s since Chorus of Mushrooms. ’Bout time. […]



  2. […] in congratulating the brilliant Hiromi Goto, who got the Sunburst in the Young Adult category for Half World, as well as those other amazing folks on the short list: Cory, Robert, Charles de Lint, and Karl […]



  3. […] this was very satisfying.  I hear her new novel, Half World, is amazing, so i am for sure getting that […]



  4. […] writer Hiromi Goto on Twitter, and found out about her most recent book through her website: Half World. It looks like excellent […]



  5. Review-Half World | Professional Lee on March 8, 2012 at 11:48 am

    […] Half World, by Hiromi Goto. You can read further reviews and follow the author’s blog here: https://www.hiromigoto.com/wp2/books/half-world/. I came across the novel while listening to CBC’s Island afternoon show All Points West, […]



  6. A More Diverse Universe | the Literate Condition on November 15, 2013 at 10:19 pm

    […] by Kiini Ibura Salaam; “Salsa Nocturna: Stories” by Daniel José Older; “Half Word” by Hiromi Goto (click title for link to book trailer); “Darktown Follies” by […]