hiromigoto.com

Subscribe

Half World

 

  • Winner of the 2010 Sunburst Award, YA Category
  • Winner of the Carl Brandon Parallax Award
  • Longlisted for the Dublin IMPAC Literary Award
  • Longlisted for the 2010 British Fantasy Award for Best Novel
  • A 2010 White Pine Award nominee
  • YALSA 2010 Best Fiction for Young Adults nominee

“Half World is a haunting combination of a coming-of-age novel and a spiritual quest, a mad funhouse of horrors and a tale of redemption and love. Wonderfully odd, and quite unforgettable.”       —Neil Gaiman

For fans of Pans Labyrinth and The Spiderwick Chronicles. An epic, genre-bending fantasy from Commonwealth Prize­winning author Hiromi Goto.

In bookstores everywhere January 27, 2009. A Puffin Canada hardcover from Penguin Group (Canada).

“It’s just wonderful. Buy one for yourself, one for a reading friend, and one for a girl, who might not know yet just how much she needs to read this. Then read it. And then you’ll understand exactly how thrilled I was to hear her say that she’s working on a companion novel.” —Buried in Print

“Fresh and intriguing…. The growth of the heroine and the clean narrative arc, which careens from one vivid, surreal scene to the next, should captivate readers.” —The Horn Book

“Goto has created an unusual fantasy horror novel that’s something like a Gaiman tale with a dash of Asian magic. Readers who want a different kind of fantasy and who like a villain who makes the skin crawl should enjoy this quick read.” —School Library Journal

“A fast-moving and provocative journey with cosmically high stakes, and one that should readily appeal to fans of dark, nightmarish fantasy.” —Publishers Weekly

“The richly flavored, often gruesome despair of the worldbuilding is enriched beautifully by Tamaki’s evocative illustrations, in which the contrasts between light and darkness mirror the tale’s thematic concerns. Hopeful and beautifully strange.” —Kirkus Reviews

6 Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Mama Non Grata » Blog Archive » Waiting on my nighttable 25 03 10
  2. Scattered blogging, with a high chance of gratitude | A.M. Dellamonica 01 10 10
  3. The Water of Possibility (Goto, Hiromi. 2002.) – wrdnrd.net 07 11 10
  4. Living a life of sneak peeks « The Banana Lounge 13 07 11
  5. Review-Half World | Professional Lee 08 03 12
  6. A More Diverse Universe | the Literate Condition 15 11 13